This update requires MAC OS X 10.4.10 or higher / MAC OS X Tiger Only

Reaction score
Hello all. Im new to this forum so I'll start out by saying Hi. I'm also new to MACs so now that I found this forum, I'm sure I will learn a lot.

I have a MAC notebook which is currently running MAC OS X Version 10.5.6. Im going away on vacation (first time in a year yay) and am currently taking a very important online class. The online class is given through Hotcomm and I need to download Hotcomm CL. While visiting their website I noticed that pretty much all of their downloads are for Windows but at the very bottom of the support section it says:
Apple MacIntosh

Some customers have reported that the Windows clients can run successfully in Parallels on a Mac OS/X, and the IM-Live Java client can run successfully on Mac OS/X with the latest Apple Java version which can be downloaded from: http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/java/

First off, I have no idea what they mean by it can run successfully in "Parallels". I followed the download link which is no longer valid. Instead I searched for Java on the apple site. When I go to install the latest version of Java I get the following message:

Im currently running version 10.5.6 which is higher than the 10.4,10 thats mentioned on the error message but it wont allow me to download the update/initial install of Java. I see that there are different versions of the MAC OS with names like Tiger as mentioned above but I dont know what that means for me and how do I get the version of Java as noted above installed on my MAC? My friend who I'm going to visit has a pc but he said it locks up on him about every hour or so and then you have to let it cool down before restarting it :Angry:

Any help from you MAC pros would be appreciated because I am new to the MAC world and this is frustrating me :'( Thanks in advance.

OP
N
Reaction score