PDA

View Full Version : How do I get to darwin's GUI, from the treminal?



mixxster
03-11-2005, 09:33 PM
I just installed darwin. I am in the terminal, and have loged in as root. what do I type to get to darwin's GUI? I have the x86 version, so it is not a mac.

meltbanana314
03-11-2005, 09:59 PM
Usually, one would type "startx" (without quotes) - however, I don't think Darwin comes with any kind of GUI. It's pretty much meant to be a barebones hacking system like earlier versions of Linux + a few of the GNU Tools.

witeshark
03-12-2005, 12:27 AM
Are you able to execute system commands on your x86 Darwin?

mixxster
03-12-2005, 11:04 AM
Usually, one would type "startx" (without quotes) - however, I don't think Darwin comes with any kind of GUI. It's pretty much meant to be a barebones hacking system like earlier versions of Linux + a few of the GNU Tools.
I have tried startx, and it did not work. But if darwin does not have a GUI, then where did these: http://www.xdarwin.org/screenshots/ comefrom?

meltbanana314
03-12-2005, 11:28 AM
I have tried startx, and it did not work. But if darwin does not have a GUI, then where did these: http://www.xdarwin.org/screenshots/ comefrom?

Darwin (http://developer.apple.com/darwin/) is different from the XDarwin (http://xdarwin.org) and OpenDarwin (http://opendarwin.org/)

Apple supplies the base project and those two groups try to mess around and build something similiar in quality to a Linux (including trying to build GUI layers.)

If you installed Apple's version (which you probably did after seeing your post on XDarwin forums) then you probably don't have any access to the GUI at all.

WireFire
04-06-2005, 09:27 PM
As far as I know, those screen shots are darwin systems with either KDE or Gnome