would like to make the change over to Macs

Reaction score
I am currentlly a frustrated and fed up PC user who would like to make the change over to Macs. I am looking at the new macbook pro's and I just can not seem to understand the difference (besides size) on the 13inch, 15inch, and 17inch.

I am a fresh graduate of highschool and therefore will be using this computer for college, music, and the sims3 as well as internet acess of course. If you all could help me figure out which mac would be the best for me I would greatly appreciate it.

I understand that I will need a good graphic procesor for my game, and a good hardrive for my music. So please keep the comments flowing...I need the help.

I guess I should lastly mention size doesnt matter, I just need a good computer seeing as this will be my first major purchase and it will be lasting awhile.

Thank you for the help.

Shekinahbabby

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
One main difference is the Video GPU (Video Card). The 13" has a NVidia 9400M which is integrated graphics which uses System RAM for the Video. It's quite good for integrated but still is no match for a discrete GPU (Video Card) with it's on Video RAM. The entry level 15" is the same way but the better 15" and the 17" have Two separate GPU's (Video Card's). One is the Integrated 9400m but the other is a NVidia 9600M GT which is a separate GPU with it's own dedicated Video Ram. That option will be much better for demanding 3d and Gaming.

Also the CPU is a bit faster in the larger MBP's also.

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
Get the tier 2 MBP 15". It's in between the power of the 17" and has the portability of the 13" without really losing out any of the features.