Please recommend a text editor

I

iPollo

Hi guys,

I recently got a Mac mini as a 2nd system. I was planning to use more my PC but guess what? after upping the RAM on the mini my PC is now my 2nd system... ;)

So far, there's nothing I can't do on my Mac that I used to do with my PC (except for gaming), however, since I'm fairly new to the Mac OS arena I know very little about software. I do a lot of programming for my company in a proprietary scripting language and I really appreciate a text editor capable of doing syntax coloring on non-standard languages. I use UltraEdit on my PCs. I tried BBEdit on my Mac and I think it's awesome for HTML editing (I also have to do some PHP thingies from time to time so I'll keep it) but I can't seem to find an option in it to add a non-standard language for syntax coloring. I also miss the search capabilities of UltraEdit.

Can you recommend me a text editor that can do at least syntax coloring for non std languages?

Thanks in advance

Reaction score
A free one would be AppleWorks that comes with OS X. Or if you want to buy Office 2004 for Mac.

OP
Z

zap2

or buy iworks which comes with pages a word prossessor and keynote which is like powerpoint I think keynote is way easyer than powerpoint and pages and word are equel. iworks is 79 bucks and the cheapest office for mac is 150 get iwork

Reaction score
Not sure if it will meet all your needs or not, but you might try TextWrangler from Bare Bones at http://www.barebones.com It seems like a very nice program and you can't beat the price....Free...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
12" Apple PowerBook G4 (1.5GHz)
For those of you who seem confused: A word processor (AppleWorks, Word, Pages) is not the same thing as a text editor. They serve different needs.

Anyway...

JEdit (http://www.jedit.org/) has this ability, I believe.

James said: