looking for a low cost photo editing app

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
macbook pro
i collect rifles and i'm building a light box to take photos in. essentially what i'm looking for is a low budget/free photo editing software for the mac that will allow some color adjustment and will allow me to white out the entire background or cut the object out of the pic and place on a white background. forgive my ignorance as i'm pretty new to macs and playing with my DSLR (a whole 5 months).

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Take a look at Pixelmator. It's not Photoshop, but it's easy to use, feature rich and extremely fast.

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
I'm not a huge picture editor myself but I quite like Acorn. Not super cheap ($50) but it might do the job for you.

If you want free, you could try The Gimp like CrimsonRequiem suggested. You can download it here.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Aluminium MacBook | iPod Touch
^ Thats a bit too limited I guess.

GIMP will get work done pretty well. If you want to spend, go Pixelmator.

Reaction score
I would also go with Pixelmator to do what you want to do. I don't know of any free Apps that will let you cutout and object like you want. I think you get a lot of editor for $59 in Pixelmator and you may want to use some of it's other options as you learn to use it. It has a bit of learning curve but I think a lot Less than Photoshop or even the free Gimp.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Aluminium MacBook | iPod Touch
^ Even though I use Pixelmator, GIMP is as easy.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
24" March 2009 Imac, 15" 700mhz G4, 2x Mac classics, and 3 ipods (nano shuffle and touch).