Will the 'easy-to-use' Mac OS do everything for me?

Reaction score
I'm an electrical engineering student, going into my final year of college, and have thus far been a windows user all of my life. I've used Mac Pros in my research labs but never owned one. I'm considering buying a new macbook, but I want to know whether there is any justification for the price difference. Now i know this question has been asked loads of times already, but what I want to know is, with the mac os (which is the main benefit of the mac) will I have the amount of control over my system as I have in windows? Right now, I know about most of the processes and services running on my windows machine, know the registry, know of little tweaks and hacks and stuff that helps me in little ways. What I want to know is, will the 'easy-to-use' Mac OS do everything for me and cause me to relinquish control, or can i still be an 'advanced user' (don't know if i've used the term right).

I'm sorry this has gotten so long winded, but i'm honestly quite confused. I want a mac, but i want my purchase to be justified by more than that.

P.S. Hope I've posted in the right section of the forums...

Thanks a lot. :)

Reaction score
If you know what you're doing you can be a pretty advanced user. If you need your machine to do something you can write a shell script and have it execute through Terminal.

Reaction score
I can't particularly think of anything that you do already on a pc that you can't also do on a Mac. You may have to give a different command or push a key in a different place, but it can be done.

I use a Mac because i like to work with my machine, not work on it...

Reaction score