Boot Camp: Windows XP Install Stuck

Reaction score
[MacBook Pro-2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo -- OS X (10.5.6)]

I'm attempting to install Windows XP (sp3, licensed/retail Windows disk) and installation is stopping directly after the 'Install devices' finishes. I have 33 minutes remaining, the windows hints/features images stop progressing, and the install just stops from there. I had the 33 minutes remaining screen showing for roughly 4 hours.

I know there have been quite a few posts on many forums regarding this but I've yet to find any real answer to the problem.

What I've tried/checked:

Different partition sizes, large and small, NFTS and FAT formatting.
No devices plugged in. Just me and my MacBook.
Did complete OS X wipe, updated to 10.5.6 and tried again.

This is my first time trying to run Boot Camp and I am a new Mac user, but from reading the guides and whatnot I've gotten the impression my results aren't typical. I'm just tossing this out there because I anticipate there will be vocabulary thrown around that I'm not completely familiar with.

**Above is a c&p of the question I originally posted on the Apple Boot Camp support forums Here, no solutions were given (in case anyone cares to look in on the discussion)***

I'm going to add a rather poor visual guide for the forums here, which will probably make this post a whopper but I've been trying to find some sort of solution to this problem for nearly 2 weeks. Apple phone support doesn't help and I can't take off during my work day to play with the guys at the Genius Bar, so I'm really hoping someone here knows of a solution :)

I've dug through many forums and seen this problem presented elsewhere with no real explanation of a solution. It's very possible I missed a solution elsewhere and if I have I apologize for bringing it up again. Forwarding any relevant links would be appreciated- I've tried very hard to not be all 'Dear Lazyweb' about this and to find my own solution.