winxp installed with bootcamp and parallels

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to this posting and forums, in fact lost my first thread, I think it got deleted as I rushed and post it in anything goes. :( sorry.

Ok, helping a friend, (trying), they installed winxp in bootcamp, then with parallels, not sure how? But in OSx I can see a hdd XP in finder and desktop, at some point they tried uninstalling parallels and failed so re-installed parallels 4. When I open their bootcamp assistant it wants to start as if it had never been used to partition the Mac hdd, yet if on restart we press alt we see two HDD's the osx and winxp. Once in XP cannot see bootcamp. My question, how can you tell if you are looking at a virtual or real partition and why does bootcamp assistant not show anything? Also if launching winxp from desktop on mac os, the desktop hdd icon with xp seems to get sucked in and no longer on desktop. Sorry if this makes no sense but hard to work with a mac user that not sure on what they did. All this came about as they could not enter windows as after pressing alt and choosing winxp, a black screen would appear and say some hal.dll missing so they would then press continually f8 and enter safe mode, there they had two choices, 1 start as win xp or 2 win professional, they had to choose win professional as the win xp would just hang. As you can see still able to use win xp but not clear what is going on? Thank you, I do hope I can find this thread next time!:[

Reaction score
Very confusing post, sorry. I think given the "hall.dll" error, that a couple of things may have happened. First, on one of the windows install, the one of the ".ini" files got corrupted. Please search for "hal.dll" on this forum and you'll find fixes. Also, given that at some point there was a choice between two windows versions, it sounds like there are multiple windows installs on this Mac - and that may be part of the problem.