PDA

View Full Version : Using the Airport as a print server?



MacDeficient
12-17-2008, 12:36 AM
My customer's airport has been reset with a WPA key which I setup and connected to an HP printer with a USB cable. If I try to print to it from the customer's Mac which has OS 10.4.x or 10.5.x ( will that make a difference? ) , will I use the IP of the airport as the IP for the printer?

The printer is wireless capable as is his Mac, do I even need the AirportExpress? If not, how would I set it up?

janusoo
12-17-2008, 02:24 AM
I'm thinking both approaches should work fine.
But what kind of wireless is the printer? Bluetooth? or just wireless. Just make sure your computer is configured to whichever way you want to access the printer.
I've got my printer connected by usb cable to an airport express which is encrypted and it works fine.

MacDeficient
12-17-2008, 02:41 AM
Just wireless, it's an HP AIO 6100 series. I cannot figure out how to make the printer ( on the Mac ) take the IP of the airport. Let me step back as well. I cannot find where in the printer settings to give it any kind of IP address, not just the airport. I did it once and now can't find it. Any suggestions? Please pardon my ignorance.



I'm thinking both approaches should work fine.
But what kind of wireless is the printer? Bluetooth? or just wireless. Just make sure your computer is configured to whichever way you want to access the printer.
I've got my printer connected by usb cable to an airport express which is encrypted and it works fine.