Windows OME. Won't read a software CD in Drive?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook OS-X 10.5.5, 2GHz, 4Gb, 1067 MHz DDR3, 160Gb
Hi there fellow Mac users :)

I have recently put Windows OME on my MacBook using VMWare Fusion.

I have a software program that I need to install that is only Windows compatible. When I insert it in the drive.... NOTHING happens! I can hear the disc spinning, but nothing appears on the screen. (does not autoplay)

I have inserted the same disc on another PC and it's fine.

However, when I go into 'My Computer" (on my virtual PC on my MacBook) I can see that it has recognized the CD as the name of the software appears on the CD Drive icon.

I am at my wits end. I changed to Mac to rid myself of this kind of thing. But it still haunts me.

Can anyone help?
P.S... Please explain it to me like I am a five year old. I have limited knowledge of the workings of a computer.

Thanks in advance
BigBoy :)

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
There are settings in Windows that will prevent auto play. What happens when you open My Computer and double-click on the disc?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
If autoplay is turned off for some reason in your VM, you can still install the program. Just select the CD in "My Computer" and open it by double clicking. Once open, look for the installer program. Should be something like:

install.exe setup.exe name of program setup.exe or similar. Double click the executable and the installer should start.

Regards.

OP
B
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Hi there. Thanks for your help.

I forgot to mention that I had already tried that and it will not open from there either.

So... I put a different windows compatible software CD into the drive and it auto played. What the?