Getting Linux to boot on macbook pro

Reaction score
Hello, this is my first post here as Im pretty new to mac stuff so be gentle ;)

Basiacally Im trying to triple boot my macbook pro with OSX, Vista, and Suse Linux, and I'm having trouble getting Linux to boot. Ive installed windows with boot camp, and I'm using REFIt as a boot manager. I partitioned the 120GB disk into 50gb OSX, 50GB Windows, 2GB Swap for linux and the rest ext3 for linux.

The problem is getting Linux to boot. Refit lists all OS and OSX and Vista are booting ok, but if I try to boot linux I get "No bootable device found -- Insert porper boot media". Ive set up lilo.conf and installed lilo properly as far as I can tell.

So has anyone seen this before or know what would cause it?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 1.83 GHz intel c2d, 2gb ram, xp and os x.6
did you install linux? i don't know much about suse, but it would also help if you mentioned where you installed lilo. mbr? or efi?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
also... more importantly... how did you partition your disk? it looks like you have 5 partitions which means 1 of them has to be an extended partition

this could be your problem. you may have to drop the swap partition so you just have
1)efi
2)hfs+
3)ntfs
4)linux/ext3

OP
B
Reaction score
Thanks for the quick reply aarnclayt :)

Yes Ive installed Suse, and I believe Suse is on the MBR. I installed suse without a boot loader and then booted to a live CD and installed it using /sbin/lilo

The partitions, I originally had it layed out as you said but the suse installer suggested a swap so I added one thinking it made sense. Ill try and remove the swap.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
removing the swap now won't make a difference - I just wanted to make sure that suse was on a primary partition and not an extended one.

the only other thing i can think of is that your linux partition wasn't formatted as bootable.

sorry i cant be of more help

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs