how can u tell if your wireless is being hijacked?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2015 Retina 4K iMac. Monterey. 8GB RAM. Crucial 500GB external SSD
using leopard, see the icon on the left that says kateslaptop?

not sure who kate is, a neighbor perhaps?. get info shows the icon as a "pc server"?????

what does this mean? are they accessing our airport network? Im stumped.

it says connected as guest. clicking the icon I get a "connecting" message... ?

any advice appreciated as Im a total networking newbie.

or is this our mac picking up someone else's wireless signal?

Picture 1.png

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 24" 2.66 C2D, 13" MacBook i7 2.9GHz, iPad 3, iPhone 4
Your router is unsecured, enable WPA2 so no one can use it without your password.

The distance to Kate's Laptop isn't very far, could be your immediate neighbor, or if your router is on a 2nd floor, it could be as far as two houses over (better reception with higher elevation).

Once you enable encryption, this user will no longer have access to your network. If you have any PC's, make sure they have anti-virus enabled because if Kate has a virus, you very well could get it on any PC's in your network.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
i dont have no mac's
leave the connection open for a few days. lock it up on october 2nd, but until then change your networks name to "kate get off our wireless"

B&O

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP i7, Mac Mini & iPhone 3G.
Lol I like that. I have done that before.

Reaction score
leave the connection open for a few days. lock it up on october 2nd, but until then change your networks name to "kate get off our wireless"

LOL... that's a good one. I still don't understand why everyone doesn't just put a password on their wireless networks. There will always be one cheapass out there trying to get over.

Reaction score
If you have write access to "kateslaptop" start putting a bunch of large files on it until you fill-up the hard drive. ;)