Help Networking with windows

Reaction score
Hi

I am a Mac newbie. I have 3 windows Vista in a network within a workgroup all connected wireless.

I cannot access the windows PC. Can somebody head me to a link, I have been searching for hours. It's Macbook Air, Version 10.5.4.

I have tried to connect using smb://192.168.2.4 but it ain't connecting?:(

How can I add the windows workgroup on the Mac, maybe that's the problem, then I can go connect to server? I read somework, there's should a SMB tab in Network folder, where I can add the workgroup, but I cannot find it?
:Oops:

Is there a graphical way of setting the network?

Is there a way to connect the MAC to the windows workgroup so to be discovered automatically?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.4 Ghz 2GB Ram 200GB Hard drive, Mac Mini 1.5 Intel Core Solo 512Mb Ram
did u go to Settings>Sharing>File Sharing and then enable file sharing and click on Options to enable smb?

OP
B
Reaction score
Hi there

Done the following

System preference/Sharing/

Enable file File sharing, Printing Sharing
Remote Login
Bluetooth Sharing

Share Folder = Bad Boy user Badboy, Users, Everyone Read& Write

Then click options

Checked Share files and folders using AFP

Check files and folders using SMB

Then I tried to connect to this vista computer, this Vista is on the workgroup GOYA..

smb://192.168.2.4

Getting connection Failed
The Server may not exist or is not operational at this time. Check the server name or IP address.

The finder cannot complete the operation because in smb://192.168.2.4 could not be read or written.

Public folder sharing & File sharing is active on the PCs.

Do I need to put that windows Worggroup somewhere in SMB?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.4 Ghz 2GB Ram 200GB Hard drive, Mac Mini 1.5 Intel Core Solo 512Mb Ram
OP
B
Reaction score
Thanks for that link.