PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question about airport express 802.11n



trellaine
04-23-2008, 03:46 PM
I currently have a router which connects my MAC/PC/Xbox360/PS3. The MAC is connected wirelessly.

I just purchased the Airport Express and want to use the iTunes feature with my stereo.

How in the world do I accomplish this?

I tried the setup for Airport Express but not sure what to select? It seems to want to subtract my current router connection and build a new one?

Can I keep my current router connections and then add Airport Express which connects MAC to Airport Express and then use iTunes with my stereo.

Thanks in advance. :|

skaheadpunk
04-23-2008, 05:45 PM
Short Answer: Yes you can.

Long answer to follow.

skaheadpunk
04-23-2008, 05:49 PM
Go to the Airport Utility, click on your Airport Express and configure like so (though obviously you don't want to connect to my network - unless yours is also called Funky Town).

http://i25.tinypic.com/13zo3k5.png

http://i26.tinypic.com/315za6v.png

http://i29.tinypic.com/df9lbl.png

http://i31.tinypic.com/wc0opj.png

trellaine
04-23-2008, 06:05 PM
wow I will try this! thanks for the easy (i hope) to follow pictures. much much appreciated.

trellaine
04-23-2008, 06:33 PM
Hmmm I have set it up as suggested. I unplugged the express and plugged it back in but still get the amber light "blinking"?

Question: I don't have any ethernet cable connected to the express from my dlink router.

I can connect wirelessly correct?

Thanks