iMac vs PowerMac

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac 2.0Ghz, 1.5G RAM
My brand new P4 Windoze machine has finally pushed me over the edge. It was fine for basic stuff like photo's but now I'm getting into digital video and I'm spending most of my time trying to piece together and troubleshoot software and waiting for reboots after the software inevitably crashes my system... I don't even want to talk about the money and time I've spent trying to keep viruses and spyware out.... :mad: Sitting on some DV forums trying to figure out problems, people kept telling me to buy a mac.... So here I am...

I am a hobby photographer and now videographer and most of what I do is just for my family or occasionally for a church function, etc... I'm not a power user by any means.... I'm also not the kind of guy that likes to rip off the cover and start replacing stuff. Don't have time for that. I want to be able to sit down and have the thing just work.

I'm heavily leaning towards the new 20" iMac with 1G of ram and a 250G HD and just want some assurances that it'll do what I want for a while without needing an upgrade anytime soon. Do I need to consider a PowerMac? The cpu cost and the added cost of the monitor scares me off and I'm not sure it buys me that much more unless I were to go to the dual 1.8....

While I'm at it... Is .mac worth the cost? Seems like it just from what I've read....

What about Applecare?

Any other must have's that I should add on when I order?

Thanks!

Wanna:mac:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
The iMac you mentioned would do just fine

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.6 GHz Core 2 Duo 4GB RAM OS 10.5.2