Rockin it Old School...need help!!!!

Reaction score
Ok, after having a father who has worked on macs since the first mac classic, this is my first foray into the mac "world". I've been a musician for several years and am really needing to get myself up to speed on music editing on the mac. Here's what I have to work with:

G4 533mHz power pc with 246mb RAM

I just purchased this piece last night from a guy selling used computers...got it for about $200. It's in pretty good condition and boots with no problem.

Here's my issue, I need serious help deciding what is the best path to go. While a CPU upgrade may be a possibility for the near future, really I'm just trying to get my feet wet. I mean, I'm starting with nearly NO experience or knowledge whatsoever.

He replaced the hard drive, so I lost the OS as well...which doesn't bother me, but that factors into the equation. I'll need to replace the OS and then get some software to begin learning so that I too can become a guru and help out the little guy some day.

Here's the hardware I currently have...I picked this up to run on windows but never really did much with it, but hopefully that will help someone send me in the right direction:

M-Audio MobilePre USB interface

I also have an Alesis QS7 which is MIDI-enabled (something else I know little about)

Ableton Live Lite 4 (I believe)

Alright all you "know-it-all's"...help a poor guy out!! :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
I've been a musician for several years and am really needing to get myself up to speed on music editing on the mac. Here's what I have to work with:

G4 533mHz power pc with 246mb RAM

I just purchased this piece last night from a guy selling used computers...got it for about $200.
I need serious help deciding what is the best path to go. While a CPU upgrade may be a possibility for the near future, really I'm just trying to get my feet wet. .................